Angry bear, secret juice, and criticizing birds…17-21

WATCH #17

Date: 08/19/2016.                                             Time: 1600 – 1900

Latitude: 11°36.115N.                                        Longitude: 36°36.27W

SOG: 6.5 knots.            Wind: 4, NE.            TWS: 12.4 knots 

Trip: 1,896 Nautical miles

NOTES

Its a nice day all around, lite breeze just enough waves to receive co the boat so that you know that you are on the ocean. I took my watch a revealed the existence of some hidden juice to the Scotsman and then poured him a glass. He drank it fast, and then slow, savoring every drop and he was, just for a moment, a happy Scotsman.

Flying fish tap their tale fin on the surface of the water as they fly to keep themselves airborne and then drive into a rising wave and disappear again.

Lunch was  tuna, corn, coleslaw,tomato and green pepper.

Watch #18

Date: 08/20/2016.                                  Time: 01:00-04:00

Latitude: 11°32.563N                               Longitude: 37°30.232W

COG: 278°                  SOG: 6.5 knots.              BTW: 284° (Trinidad)

Wind: 4, NE.             TWS: 13.4 knots.           Trip: 1,951 NM

NOTES

 The conditions weren’t bad this morning and it doesn’t appear to be any squalls on the horizon, of course the visibility is limited because of the haze. 01:45am marks 1,000 nautical miles that we have traveled since leaving Cape Verde, a milestone I would have missed if the Scotsman hadn’t asked me to log it for him. I now have 2,600 nautical miles at sea, and I have had a cup of tea and three hard candies. Dinner was an Asian style noodle dish and was inhaled. 

If the clouds would release the moon it would be useful for I am writing in the dark with only the navigation display light to assist me.

Sailing lesson: let the sail hold the boom, not the sail lift.

Watch #19

Date: 08/20/2016.                          Time: 10:00-1300

Latitude: 11°16.934N.                     Longitude: 38°24.394

BTW: 287°                   COG: 270° (Paramaribo)       SOG: 5.7 knots

Wind: 4, NE.            TWS: 12.2 knots.         Trip: 2,007.92 nm

NOTES

I arrived one minute before my watch and was given the ” you should have been here five minutes before” speech by the Scotsman. I feel like that should have been brought up on watch #1, but what does a land lubber like me know? 

A second mysterious stain was found on the deck this morning, a tea stain that resembled a murder scene. I was awoken by the sound of someone  vigorously scrubbing next to my hatch. This caused some raised volumes speech by the “Bear”, and I won’t say who it was but only that I am as  innocent as a baby goat.

The Scotsman popped up to give me mileage on our first leg when we had to turn around and go back to Las Palmas, one thing lead to another and we were shaking hands on a little wager. What day would we arrive in Grenada?…

Like drinking a cool glass of juice in the middle of the ocean my soul was refreshed by the news that we could take a shower today, and so I have. Smells are down and moral is up. The Scotsman took full advantage and did “a wee bit of laundry” which is now clipped to the side of the boat drying in the sun. 

I found myself preaching the benefits of biblical character whilst being ruled by the tyrannical ocean Bear of a captain.

I also saw some flying fish.

Watch #20

Date: 08/20/2016.                            Time: 19:00-2200

Latitude: 11°12.591N.                        Longitude: 39°10.952W

BTW:288°                     COG: 287° (Grenada)        SOG: 5.7 knots

Wind: 2, South.          TWS: 5.9 knots.               Trip: 2,054 nm

NOTES

It’s cool and colorful as I take my watch at the helm, but there isn’t much wind. There are, on the “bright side”, stars, lots of stars because there is no moon. The air is warm and seems to be holding at 6.5 knots. I tried to find a star chart in the sailing book I have but had no success. Dinner was good consisting of fish with salsa, potatoes and green peas. We had to use the water maker today because the water levels were lower than Captain Bear expected so that came with pretty thick hints that we were using too much water. I was asked if I was using fresh water to operate my malfunctioning toilet. A strange thing to ask when he saw me pulling buckets full of water from the ocean.

Today was one of those days when I notice how blue the ocean is.

The bear made two loaves of bread today…I had some sourdough…it was good.

Watch#21

Date: 08/21/2016.                          Time: 04:00 -07:00

Latitude: 11°11.445N.                     Longitude: 40°07.897W

BTW: 288°                 COG: 282° ( Rio Orinoco)         SOG: 5.2 knots

Wind: 3, SW             TWS: 7.5 knots.         Trip: 2,108.83 nm

Sails: Full Mainsail, Full Gib

NOTES

Boom! I’ve been five minutes early as requested by my fellow shipmate and do I get any recognition? Nooooo! The outrage! I came up to my watch and found a  courier sky than I expected and had to add some layers lest a catch my death.

Whenever the wind is calm the boom of the mainsail slams around making a metallic racket that gives off a sound that makes you feel as if you are doing something wrong. The bear came up to check on things just a minute ago, (which he has been doing more lately, which we all appreciate) and then moved slowly into the darkness of his cave to sleep. It’s 05:45am.

There are birds in the middle of the ocean , which I find strange…come to think of it I bet he finds my presence just as perplexing. I can imagine the conversation.

Bird 1: Babe! You know how I fly around in the middle of the ocean because I am an ocean bird so it’s not weird?

Bird 2:…………….yes

Bird 1: I saw some humans today…in the middle of the freaking ocean…which I find strange.

Bird 2: Whoa! What were they doing?

Bird 1: Sitting….I mean people will sit anywhere…it was the biggest floating chair that I have ever seen, and a bit over done if you ask me.

Bird 2: I stopped listening to you like five minutes ago

Bird 1: Cool……

The Scotsman had a flying fish come through his hatch and land in his shower during the night…hilarious!

Leave a comment