Nicaragua Day 1

Pretty standard stuff. Stressful approach to D.C? Check! I but if a financial scare?Check! Forgot to pack something useful? Double check! Everyone has their process. Now on to the good stuff.

Airports are full of personalities who are desperate to be painted, and this one was no different. She was an older woman, heavy set, and dressed according to her generation with a colourful wardrobe that complimented her generation. Her arms were crossed and she sat in her chair fast asleep awaiting her flight. If this wasn’t beautiful enough, nestled in her cross locked arms was what can only be described as her “pride and joy”. A small dog lay comatose across the top of her arms dead to the world. If I had paint, she would have awoken to a very awkward situation.

2am, that’s when we arrived in Managua. Our fellow passengers, and we, exited the plane like a scene from the walking dead and we secured our taxi to our hostel. Exhausted and grimmy we surrender to sleep. Only one of us slept well. When I travel i become hyper sensitive to my surroundings and during the night I heard noises.

We walked. We saw churches, the beach, called a friend of a friend to see if we would include him in our adventures, had huevos ranchos in a cafe, went to the market to stock our fridge, acquired a map, tried to write a musical, played card games and Dominos and we sit here await the night live of the hostel. Personally I’ve already caused the hostess to cry laughing as I failed to impress her with my cigar cutting skills and then shortly after that, was laughed at for my terrible Spanish accent when I tried to order a drink. She got me when I called her out for it. I’m also being pestered during to play more card game while I’m writing this by my travel partner. He tension are at an all time high….which isn’t really high…at all.

One thought on “Nicaragua Day 1

  1. Love it!

    On Apr 15, 2018 8:32 PM, “Sailing from the Sahara” wrote:

    > Trey Warriner posted: “Pretty standard stuff. Stressful approach to D.C? > Check! I but if a financial scare?Check! Forgot to pack something useful? > Double check! Everyone has their process. Now on to the good stuff. > Airports are full of personalities who are desperate to be pai” >

Leave a comment